Skip to content

I Am: Who Am I? Experts road-test week one

by on August 24, 2011

To coincide with my Summer 2012 exhibition, Making an Exhibition of Myself, at the SGDP building at the Institute of Psychiatry, I have funding from the SLaM charitable trustees to run 4 half-day workshops for 12 service users, one in each of  Croydon, Lambeth, Lewisham and Southwark, on the theme of autobiography: for participants to explore the potentially therapeutic role of working with such material within an art context.

I recently trialled week one of the two week workshops with a group of “experts”. I am very grateful to Ali, Colin, Garry, Helen, Sarah N, Sarah W and Störm for their participation and on-going feedback as I continue to test and refine all aspects of the workshop’s experience.

I ran the revised workshop with The Bethlem Arts Club group in December 2011. My long term aim is to make it available to SLaM front-line staff, to contribute to their continuous professional development (CPD).

I also believe that it could make a very effective team building workshop, so I will also seek to run it with SLaM multi-disciplinary teams (MDTs). At a time when the whole organisation (SLaM) is undergoing radical change and reorganisation, I hope this may be an effective way to foster newly organised teams getting to know each other in a more holistic and non-hierarchical way.

Below are the badges made during the week one workshop; those which participants were happy to place in the public domain. I will similarly be posting the badges made in subsequent workshops on the IAmWhoAmI blog (see “collaborations”).

Some comments from the workshop participants:

“The workshop has been very thought provoking with regards to where I’ve been, where I am, and where I’m going.”

“I found it a beautifully sensitive and simple framework of thinking, feeling and doing. Encouraging the participant to see the complex in the simple and vice versa.”

“I had the chance to look at different aspects of what I think about myself. I rarely have a chance to do this in a group setting and it was good to share some of this with others.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

From → I Am: Who Am I?

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

